Information on romance scams and scammers.
#61046 by scrat Fri Aug 05, 2011 7:32 pm
... and runs out of money.

Hi all, my Name is Scrat and i think i fell for a romance scammer the last seven weeks.

"lonely medic" contacted me at the start of august on the german dating platform http://www.finya.de with a nothing saying initial message:

Hi, Im Scarlett 26 years old from England. Im single and Im looking for love... I have no kids and never been married. Im a medical student and I have a little art business.. What about you? What are you looking for and what do you do?

After asking, why an UK-based girl from Ipswich would be searching on a german site she said, she would be interested in german guys, because we'd handle our women so nicely. After that, we exchanged some messages on the plattform, switching soon to email ( [email protected] ) , and, after having trouble with Y!M we ended on MSN Messenger.

Her background (presented in a good english - as far as i can tell this as an non-native speaker) was a medical student, going to finish her degree next year and having a small (african) arts sale currently on pause. Quite religious ("Bethseda Baptist" as a continous typo?) and living near to her mum. Father died some time ago in a car accident and left some small heritage which brings her through the studies. Now her mum evolved some rhenal / kidney problems and needed an operation soon in the future. Because of this she'd need to travel to nigeria and sell some property which her father left her.
So far, so good, no money begging or else. Quite nice and high educated conversation till this point, as far as i can tell. Got some very deep chats and git quite intimate at a point (ahem).